Gentlemen of West London Cricket Club
Gentlemen of West London Cricket Club


Match report 2020.08.02
Gents v Kempton
Report 2020.8.2.pdf
Adobe Acrobat document [134.1 KB]
Match report 2020.07.26
Bricklayer's Arms v Gents
Report 2020.7.26.pdf
Adobe Acrobat document [159.7 KB]
Match report 2020.07.19
Gents v Battersea Eagles
Report 2020.8.2.pdf
Adobe Acrobat document [134.1 KB]


Gents 252-7 (Sudireddy 96, Gulati 66*) beat Kempton 210 (Hemin Patel 5-41) by 42 runs.


A club record seventh-wicket stand of 140 in 15 overs took Gents from 82-6 to 222-7.


Kempton were well in it before Hemin's spell.   



Bricklayer's Arms 201-4 beat Gents 200-9 by 6 wickets.


Their first win against us, and completely deserved.



Gents 184 beat Battersea Eagles 164 by 20 runs in a tight game played in gloomy conditions notable for fine catching.



Gents play Battersea Eagles Sunday 19 July at Old Tenisonians, 1pm start.



Tomorrow's game is cancelled. Ground is not ready.



Gents start the 2020 season at long last with a trip to Golden XI in St Albans on Sunday 12 July. Thank you to Vamsee Krishna for arranging.



The second nets will be 4.30pm this coming Sunday 5 July at:


Wycombe House SSC

385 Jersey Road

Isleworth TW7 5PJ


Please observe the ECB regulations.


We have two non-adjacent nets, six maximum per lane.


No sharing of equipment.


See you there.



The first nets will be 4pm this coming Sunday 28 June at:


Wycombe House SSC

385 Jersey Road

Isleworth TW7 5PJ


Please observe the ECB regulations.


We have two non-adjacent nets, six maximum per lane.


No sharing of equipment.


See you there.







What is the Government’s advice on when we can start playing?


Sorry, but this question cannot yet be answered.


Professional cricket will not start until August and there is no decsion on when the recreational game can start..


We are bound by the advice given by the Government, the ECB and the ground authorities and have not yet received enough information.


Cricket was one of the outdoor summer sports overlooked in the Government’s latest lockdown guidelines, whereas golf, tennis and angling – more obviously isolated pursuits – were specifically mentioned by the Prime Minister.


The ECB has promised an update soon. Its holding statement is: “While our recommendation to suspend all forms of recreational cricket remains in place at present, everyone across the sport is hoping that we will see cricket played across England and Wales this summer”.


Our conduit into the ECB is Wycombe House CC whose Hon. Cricket Secretary is kindly sharing information when he receives it.


It is likely that outdoor nets will recommence before matches can but with one lane’s distance between participants.


Indoor nets facilities remain closed.


What is happening on the grounds?


Some ground authorities (e.g. Chiswick House) have cancelled all bookings for 2020. Others are not taking new bookings. Preparations continue, however, at our home grounds.


What’s happening elsewhere?


Cricket Scotland has cancelled its 2020 league programme but states: “There are still hopes that some action can take place in August, with the creation of friendly and, potentially, competitive fixture structures – most likely concentrating on the T20 format – in August and possibly September, depending on player, official and ground availability.”


What is the opinion of other clubs?


In a recent survey conducted by The Cricketer magazine, most respondents thought that there would be cricket from August or September.


What might cricket look like when we restart?


It will certainly be different. We will have to respect social distancing, bring our own teas and not socialise with the opposition after the match. Some matches are like that anyway. Wicket-keepers might have to stand back, even to the spinners.


What about annual subs?


The Committee thanks those who have paid. Some pitches have been prepaid. The Club is adopting a wait and see policy and it is not currently planned to issue refunds.



Back t0 June 2009 as Ken Toft and an injured Sanjay Patel provide the heroics.



Today we recall what is called with justification the most astonishing game in the club's history, from September 1993.



Today we recall a bizarre game from July 2016: Pavan Kota's then-highest score, a sublime 50 from Nilesh Dubey, a bonkers opposition and the groundsman's taking out the bonnet of his car with an axe, leaving it embdedded, before going for a drive.



More controversy, a few broken ribs and the making of Jim Wright back in July 1995.



Back in September 2009, Mark Sciberras and Ravi Inkollu reduced the Salix batting to rubble, and they were 102-6. An easy win then? Read it and weep.


Coming up over the weekend, the most controversial and acrimonious game in our history.



We recall a low-scoring tie from 2008 that was the beginning of an epic run.



Today's classic matches took place in June 2009 and July 2014. Ahsan Iqbal (75) and Suman Rudru (52) were the heroes against West One in the first game, and Jonny Small (106) and Raja Pentakota (72) in the second.



We wish all players and their families good health and hope to see you soon. 



With the season suspended until further notice, we are publishing a few reports of classic games from our 596-match history.


See under 'Archive of classic matches'.



We regret to inform you that the book sale planned for 29 March, and the nets planned for 22 March and 5 April are cancelled.


The planned venue for the nets, Slough and Eton College, is shut because of Coronavirus and has cancelled all bookings until the end of April.



Gents will play at least five games at Wycombe House in 2020. See fixtures for details.



GWLCC announces a sale of cricket books in support of Cancer Research UK.




11.00-18.00 Sunday 29 March 2020


Iconic Images Gallery, 13a Park Walk, Chelsea, London SW10 0AJ



Nets have been arranged as follows:. The facility includes a bowling machine.


Slough and Eton College

Ragstone Road

Slough SL1 2PU


Sun 22.3.20 12.00-14.00

Sun 5.4.20 09.00-10.00



The minutes of the AGM have been published under "The Gent, reviews and records".



Eighteen attended the AGM. Welcome to the new Committee.


The Committee was elected nem. con.:


Chairman S. Patel

Captain N. Dubey

Vice-captain S. Kumar

Treasurer R. Sudireddy

Club and Fixtures Secretary A. Burman

Match Secretary H. Patel



The outgoing captain gave awards to V. Gulati, H. Patel and R. Sudireddy.


Playing awards were voted for as follows:


All-rounder S. Namilikonda (597 runs, 25 wickets)

Batsman P. Kota (674 runs)

Bowler R. Chatharaju (25 wickets)

Fielder S. Namilikonda (16 ct., 3 st.)

Most Improved R. Sudireddy (339 runs, 12 ct., 4 st.)


25.11.19 Twenty-five fixtures have been booked for 2020. We travel to two new grounds, Binfield (where la famille Snelling now play - what a game that will be!) and Kempton, one of the prettiest grounds in England. We weclome Rakesh Patel's All Stars franchise team in April.


We return to the beautiful grounds of Byfleet, Crossbats, Teddington Town, Hale, Chiswick House to play Salix, and King's College to play Whalers.


Please click on Fixtures for details of this work in progress.


10.10.19 The season's summary, statistics and tidied up match reports, etc. are now available in Gent 168.


10.10.19 The process for organising fixtures for 2020 has begun. Check on the Fixtures section above.


26.9.19 Final averages have been uploaded. Greg Newcombe has smashed it.


2019 averages
What it says
2019 averages and bowling economy.pdf
Adobe Acrobat document [85.0 KB]
Print Print | Sitemap Recommend this page Recommend this page
© Gentlemen of West London Cricket Club